UK dominates 2018's list of new Masters of Wine

Six of the 14 new Masters of Wine who were officially welcomed to The Institute of Masters of Wine this week are based in the UK.

The IMW held its annual awards ceremony in London last night to officially welcome the 14 to its membership. There are now 380 MWs based in 30 different countries.

Of the 14 who passed all parts of the MW examination in 2018, six are based in the UK: Cassidy Dart MW, who is currently the director of wine at Pol Roger; Barbara Drew MW, who works for Berry Bros & Rudd; Regine Lee MW, national account sales for Liberty Wines; Simon Milroy MW, who has worked for Majestic, the Sampler Wine Merchant and Domaine Direct; Thomas Parker MW - now the youngest MW in the world - works as a buyer at Farr Vintner; and Tim Triptree MW, international director at Christies.

A number of regions were represented by the other eight new members: Almudena Alberca MW (Spain); Job de Swart MW (Netherlands); Carline Hermann MW (USA); Olga Karapanou Crawford MW (USA); Elsa Macdonald MW (Canada); Lindsay Pomeroy MW (USA); Nicolas Quille MW (USA); and Martin Reyes MW (USA).

Additional awards were given out at the ceremony for exceptional pieces of work during the MW process.

Of the new UK-based MWs, Tim Triptree was awarded the Noval Award, sponsored by Quinta do Noval, part of AXA Millesimes. The award recognises the best research paper by a new MW. Triptree was chosen for this award for his research paper Reserve wine use in Brut NV Champagne: trends, causes and implications.

Adrian Garforth MW, chairman of the IMW, said: “It is an honour to officially welcome the 2018 vintage to our membership. The awards ceremony is a special day in the IMW calendar, as Masters of Wine fly in from around the world to join the new Masters of Wine, their family and friends, to celebrate their outstanding achievement.”

Other awards during the evening were given to Job de Swart MW (Taransaud Tonnellerie Award); Nicolas Quille MW (Villa Maria Prize, Errazuriz Award and the Robert Mondavi Winery Award); and Lindsay Pomeroy MW (Bollinger Medal and the Austrian Wine Marketing Board Outstanding Achievement Award).

Related articles: